RSS

In search of the quiet

14 Sep

fb_img_1473846122181

This photo was taken in bohol in june this yr by kayakasia.

Came across the photo while scrolling thru fb. To me, the photo speaks of quiet. of peace and quiet. Contrary to what i was feeling that day.

That day, we did a 19km sea crossing and the current was against us the whole time. It was my first time attempting the 4 day kayak trip on a single sea kayak. I was the slowest and i was the last. Often times i was alone too, save for the times when 2 ppl took turns to hang around me in case i couldn’t manage. That day, i heard among the harshest words in my head. I wanted to give up and i didnt think i could make it. Several other negative thoughts passed my mind, of things that didn’t even relate to my paddling against the current. I made it to the shore in the end. 2hrs after the first guy reached, 20 min after my friend reached. I was proud of myself for not giving up.

This year has been a mental struggle for me. But i have through worse and made it out. I will make it through this one too. I will make it through to the quiet.

Just keep paddling.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 14, 2016 in i-Learn, i-Reflect

 

Leave a Reply

 
