RSS

Plinky: If you could go back and relive one day of your life, which one would it be?

17 Jul

the year: 2000
the month: some where mid july
the day: either a fri/sat, right after my JC 2 prelim papers ended
the time: supposed to be 5pm, but i was more than 1 hour late
the place: east coast beach
the setting: our first meeting outside
the activity: dinner (which never happened)

i met my friend at east coast 1 hour late. i took a cab down because the time we were supposed to meet was the time i left house, after trying to tie a lace as a ribbon around my neck. i wore a blue top and jeans. and i thought i looked sweet enough. (at that time. given a choice now, i might have dressed differently) but i was late.

that era was the time we had no handphones, and my pager was (for some reason, i cant remember where it went).

anyway, when we finally met, my friend who was actually about to leave ECP, said something nice abt the way i looked. and that the anger disappeared. 🙂 we walked…… walked from somewhere near mcdonalds to the far left stretch where they had seafood. along the way, we stopped under a shelter for a while where my friend handed me my belated birthday present.

my original thought?

“a pencil case??? thats the best you could do???”

haha… but of course, i smiled and accepted it because that was the first present i recieved from that person. and i still have that present, with its pencil, eraser, ruler and pen all unused till today.

my friends and i always loved to sit by the breakwater and watch the waves crash in. but that day, we walked past the breakwaters, to the seafood centres, walked over the railings which we were meant to keep ppl safe away from the water. much to my friend’s uncertainty that we should do that.

we sat there from the time the sun set (which we couldnt see) till it turned dark. we spoke about alot of things. i cant even remember…… because just being in that moment meant everything to me. the waves started to crash in, with its occasional splashes on us. which we tried to unsuccessfully escape. obviously, cos we were seated on the edge on the tarmac on which the waves crashed in below us. we laughed as we turned to each other to shield the splashes. i passed my friend a tissue and we wiped our faces.

somewhere along the few hours, my friend held both my arms and tried to push me into the water and i screamed the typical teenage girl’s scream. typical teenage girl..

we both had our watches with us, but, it never occurred to us that we should check the time. my friend eventually realised it was already going to be 10pm.

“do you know we havent had dinner yet?” my friend asked.

“oh ya!!! hahaha……… nevermind lah… im not hungry. are you hungry?”

“nope”

imagine that we spent the night not feeling hungry because ……….. well, because we were just happy with each other’s company.

my friend suggested we headed home. but i didnt want the night to end. i wanted to stay. but, i eventually moved by butt. we took a slow stroll out. i cant remember which exit we walked to. all i remember was that i didnt want the taxi stand to appear.

as my friend left me in the cab, i remember wishing so much that my friend would send me back home. but that was silly. we both stayed in opposite directions.

the cab started to move, and i turned back to see my friend become smaller and smaller behind me. the best day just came to an end.

and then suddenly the cab stopped. and i looked out, and i saw my friend. i thought we had driven for a while. i opened the door and my friend passed me something (which i really really didnt take note of, because i was just that happy to see my friend again). my friend had ran to return me something……..

another wave goodbye, and the cab went off, for real this time……..

why do i want to relive this day again? because i can still remember all the emotions i felt, how the night smelt, and how everything just seemed so perfect, that we could idle time away without even feeling hungry……..

if i could change anything about this day, i’d make sure i wasnt late, so that i’d have that 1 extra hour to spend with my friend…….

i would have written out an all emotional post, but dont know why, im keeping this public, maybe for the sake of plinky….. so this might be as best as i could…

the year, 2000……..

 
5 Comments

Posted by on July 17, 2010 in i-Happy, i-Wish

 

Tags:

5 responses to “Plinky: If you could go back and relive one day of your life, which one would it be?

  1. TJ

    July 25, 2010 at 1:21 am

    Ahh the past~ We all want it back so badly.

    Someday I’m so going to pester you for access to the private posts!

    Btw, cheer up 😀 You’re a great teacher!

     
    • misspegasus

      July 25, 2010 at 9:27 am

      lol TJ, my protected posts have different levels of protection.

      1) a few friends can read.
      2) 1 person can read.
      3) only i can read.

      so………….. hmmmmmmm……….. we’ll see…

      and thanks…. 🙂

       
  2. TJ

    August 3, 2010 at 7:26 pm

    Wow. So sophisticated. Lols it’s okay:D Up to u larh haha

     
  3. Ur Neighbour

    September 23, 2010 at 11:22 am

    Lesson 1 learnt: Never be late =)

    Lesson 2 learnt: we can remenisce, but I’m sure if u go to ECP today, it’ll provide u a new perspective on how it can be and maybe the company that is going with you will create another experience that is as worthwhile too.

    Lesson 3: Life has too many wonderful memories to remember. Life has also too many oppotunities for us to CREATE wonderful memories with others and those ard us. If we only want the past to participate, how many lead roles can the current pple in ur life play? Or should I say, is there ANY role that current pple in ur life can fit in to create another wonderful emotional memory for u?

     
    • misspegasus

      September 23, 2010 at 6:33 pm

      im actually taking this post/comment in a different light now because of my changed perspective on this issue. the past one month, since the minister visit has been quite a revelation. and, im feeling quite neutral abt things maybe just cos ive accepted them whole heartedly.

      the ECP experience will always be in my mind cos the feelings i experienced were really above heaven. haha… but, maybe…. there will be new memories to create. perhaps… 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
